Monday, April 13, 2015

K Is For Tonya Kappes

 photo K_zps53d11038.jpg
 photo tanya_zpsljb4v62r.jpg

Small town southern mystery author, Tonya Kappes, has written numerous novels and novellas, all of which have graced numerous bestseller lists including USA Today. Best known for stories charged with emotion and humor, and filled with flawed characters, her novels have garnered reader praise and glowing critical reviews. She grew up in Nicholasville, Kentucky and lives with her husband, two very spoiled schnauzers and one ex-stray cat in northern Kentucky. Now that her boys are teenagers, Tonya writes full time but can be found at all of her guys high school games with a pencil and paper in hand.

The Divorced Divas series features Holly Harper and a group of other divorced women who form a self-help group which meets in Holly's bead store and plot creative ways to get back at each other's exes.  When one of the exes actually turns up dead, it's up to the women to find out who in Swanee, Kentucky is setting them up. Books in this series include Bead Of Doubt (novella), Strung Out To Die, and Crimped To Death--with a new title to be released later this year.

The Olivia Davis series features Olivia Davis, who has a "gift" for being able to read auras. She runs an online breakup service,, where she does the dirty work for people who want out of their relationships. Clients begin to turn up dead, and then Olivia has to find out who is doing the killing, to save her business and her clients.  Books in this series include, Color Me A Crime, and Color Me Love (short story).

The Laurel London series is set in Walnut Grove, Kentucky and features Laurel London. She's a former wild child who has come back home determined to make good--so of course she finds herself in the middle of trouble in no time at all. Titles in this series are Checkered Crime and Checkered Past.

The Magical Cures series takes place in Whispering Falls, Kentucky, where there is magic around every corner. June Heal runs a homeopathic cure shop in town and is also a witch. Solving crimes takes all her sleuthing powers as well as her magical ones. There are currently six books and two novellas in this series. The books are A Charming Crime, A Charming Cure, A Charming Wish, A Charming Spell, A Charming Magic, and A Charming Secret. The novellas are A Charming Potion and A Charming Christmas.

Tonya's newest series is the Ghostly Southern Mystery series. Emma Lee Raines is the co-owner of the Eternal Slumber Funeral Home in Sleepy Hollow, Kentucky. After being hit on the head by a falling plastic Santa, Emma Lee discovers she can see and speak to the dearly departed...and they are asking her to solve their murders. There are currently two titles in this series: A Ghostly Undertaking and A Ghostly Grave. The next two will be released later this year: A Ghostly Demise and A Ghostly Murder. 

1 comment:

Liz A. said...

Bead Of Doubt, Strung Out To Die, and Crimped To Death... Those titles have me chuckling.

Liz A. from Laws of Gravity